The 23rd IUPAC Conference on Physical Organic Chemistry (ICPOC23) 3-8th July 2016 archive website.

ICPOC23 was held at UNSW, Sydney, Australia 3-8th July 2016 with about 300 attendies from around world attending.

See Special Pure and Applied Chemistry issue on ICPOC 23 that is out!

Please note that the original website was taken down in February 2017 - 6 months after the conference and redirected here. Not all the information from the original website has been restored on this website.


ICPOC is a biannual conference, with the previous two being held in Durham, UK (ICPOC21, 2012) and Ottawa, Canada (ICPOC22, 2014).  

Physical organic chemistry of this conference series is viewed as 'a broad church' encompassing not just the traditional physical organic areas of mechanism, reactivity and structure but extending into biology, materials science and systems chemistry.  Accordingly, the streams of this conference will be: 

    • Physical Foundations of Organic Reactivity
    • Mechanism and Bioorganic Chemistry
    • Supramolecular and Systems Chemistry


Organised with support from Systems Chemistry Australia


Below are some of the highlights from this meeting:

The program booklet (3 Mb).

The complete abstract book (> 80 Mb!).

Link to the web conference app.

Forum on the Future of Chemistry with guest of honour, Prof. George Whitesides, Harvard Univeristy. This forum was held at UNSW on the 6th July 2016. See video recording from the forum here.


Plenary speakes:

  • Prof. Luis Campos - Columbia University, United States
  • Prof. Sabine Flitsch - University of Manchester, UK
  • Prof. Kendall Houk - University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Prof. Feihe Huang - Zhejiang University, China
  • Prof. Heather Maynard - University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Prof. Herbert Mayr - Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München, Germany
  • Prof. Jan van Esch - Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Nobel Laureate Prof. Arieh Warshel - University of Southern California, United States
  • Prof. George Whitesides - Harvard University, United States
Keynote speakers:
  • Prof. Manabu Abe - Hiroshima University, Japan
  • Prof. Clemence Corminboeuf - École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Prof. Luis Echegoyen - University of Texas at El Paso, USA
  • Prof. Philip Gale - University of Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Dr Pengju Ji - Tsinghua University, China
  • Assoc. Prof. Lynn Kamerlin - Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Prof. Koop Lammertsma - Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Prof. Junqiu Liu - Jilin University, China
  • Dr AnnMarie O'Donoghue - Durham University, UK
  • Prof. Emily Parker - University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Prof. Addy Pross - Ben-Gurion University of the Negev and NYU Shanghai​, Israel
  • Prof. Lawrence Scott - Boston College and University of Nevada, Reno, United States
  • Prof. Dean Tantillo - University of California, Davis, USA
  • Prof. Marcey Waters - University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, United States
  • Prof. Spencer Williams - University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Prof. Eiji Yashima - Nagoya University, Japan

Invited speakers:

  • Prof. Mohamed Amedjkouh - University of Oslo, Norway
  • Prof. Joakim Andreasson - Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
  • Prof. Colin Barrow - Deakin University , Australia
  • Prof. Evan Bieske - University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Prof. Stephen Blanksby - Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Prof. Steven Bottle - Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Prof. Filip Bures - University of Pardubice, Czech Republic
  • Dr Niklaas Buurma - Cardiff University, United Kingdom
  • Dr Bun Chan - Nagaski University, Japan
  • Dr Ivan Keung Chu - The University of Hong Kong, China
  • Prof. Guido Clever - TU Dortmund University, Germany
  • Prof. Michelle Coote - Australian National University, Australia
  • Prof. Maria de Lurdes Cristiano - University of Algarve, Portugal
  • Prof. Anthony Day - University of New South Wales, Canberra, Australia
  • Prof. James De Voss - University of Queensland, Australia
  • Prof. Gino DiLabio - University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Dr Alex Donald - University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Dr Jason Dutton - La Trobe University, Australia
  • Prof. Chris Easton - Australian National University, Australia
  • Dr Beatriu Escuder - Universitat Jaume I, Spain
  • Prof. Dan Ess - Brigham Young University, United States
  • Dr Christopher Fitchett - University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Prof. Luis Garcia-Rio - University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • Dr James Gardiner - CSIRO, Australia
  • Prof. Stephen Glover - University of New England, Australia
  • Prof. Anna Gudmundsdottir - University of Cincinnati, United States
  • Prof. Rainer Herges - Kiel University, Germany
  • Dr Junming Ho - Institute of High Performance Computing, Singapore
  • Prof. Eduardo Humeres - Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil
  • Prof. Richard Johnson - University of New Hampshire and the National Science Foundation, United States
  • Prof. Kate Jolliffe - University of Sydney, Australia
  • Prof. Scott Kable - University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Prof. Laszlo Kurti - Rice University, United States
  • Dr Sara Kyne - University of Lincoln, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Jerome Lacour - Université de Genève, Switzerland
  • Dr Girish Lakhwani - University of Sydney, Australia
  • Prof. Pierangelo Metrangolo - Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Prof. Jarugu Narasimha Moorthy - Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
  • Prof. Henrik Ottosson - Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Dr Paulina Pavez - Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile
  • Prof. Richard Payne - University of Sydney, Australia
  • Dr Fred Pfeffer - Deakin University , Australia
  • Prof. Uwe Pischel - University of Huelva, Spain
  • Dr Tara Pukala - University of Adelaide, Australia
  • Prof. Colin Raston - Flinders University of South Australia, Australia
  • Prof. Jeff Reimers - University of Technology Sydney & Shanghai University, Australia
  • Dr Nicole Rijs - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Prof. Alan Rowan - Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Prof. Wolfram Sander - Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
  • Prof. Kotaro Satoh - Nagoya University, Japan
  • Prof. Peter Schreiner - Justus-Liebig University, Institute of Organic Chemistry, Germany
  • Prof. Mick Sherburn - Australian National University, Australia
  • Dr David Smith - Ruder Boskovic Institute, Croatia
  • Prof. Bradley Smith - University of Notre Dame, United States
  • Dr Adam Trevitt - University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Prof. Einar Uggerud - Universitetet i Oslo, Norway
  • Dr Max von Delius - University of Ulm, Germany
  • Dr Simon Webb - University of Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Jonathan White - University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr Brendan Wilkinson - University of New England, Australia
  • Prof. Uta Wille - University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Prof. Craig Williams - University of Queensland, Australia
  • Prof. Ian Williams - University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Nicholas Williams - University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Dr David Wilson - La Trobe University, Australia
  • Prof. Masakazu Yamazaki - Tohoku University, Japan
  • Prof. Brian Yates - University of Tasmania, Australia